Skip navigation

I have been following the news of Mandela the ex-President of South Africa, its first black president since last year when he was admitted to the hospital for lung infection. I added him as someone I LIKE on my FaceBook and have been receiving his news.  At 94 this year, he has not exactly been healthy. His recurrent lung problem is worrying.

I feel sad. Mandela is one foreign leader I deeply admire. His magnanimity following the fall of the apartheid government in South Africa really touched my heart. Despite being treated cruelly for years  by the then White Regime, he was able to forgive and reconcile and so prevented an unimaginable  bloodbath in his country. Lord, the man is an angel!

Imagine if the likes of Bush and Putin have got the heart of Mandela?

I pray to God to lessen Mandela’s sufferings as I can imagine what it is like to have breathing problems due to his diseased lungs weakened by past-TB infection and quarry-related works while being imprisoned for 27 years.

This is one leader I shall really miss.

Mandela to the world, Madiba to his clan. An exceptional leader.

Mandela to the World, Madiba to his Clan. An outstanding personality and an exceptional leader.

Nelson Mandela: Key dates

  • 1918 Born in the Eastern Cape
  • 1943 Joins African National Congress
  • 1956 Charged with high treason, but charges dropped
  • 1962 Arrested, convicted of sabotage, sentenced to five years in prison
  • 1964 Charged again, sentenced to life
  • 1990 Freed from prison
  • 1993 Wins Nobel Peace Prize
  • 1994 Elected first black president
  • 1999 Steps down as leader
  • 2004 Retires from public life

 

I truly share the sadness and anxiety of his family and the people who love him at this point in time.

According to Mr Zuma the current President of South Africa,  “In Zulu, when someone passes away who is very old, people say he or she has gone home. I think those are some of the things we should be thinking about.”

I fully agree.

My only consolation is that he has outlived a number of  world leaders and become an international  icon of reconciliation and world peace.

Leave a Reply

